Club Building

In 1997, a large portion of the building was lovingly restored as a boutique deluxe hotel.

From the spiral staircase to the floor tiling and light fittings, the building is a testament to the character and beauty of the era in which it was built, while carefully incorporating modern features to create a unique hotel experience.

In association with the hotel, a wide range of preferential facilities are available, including:

What's in a Name?

Numerous caricatures of past and current members grace the walls of the Club lounge, providing a unique and whimsical connection to the history of the Club.

D. Cook
D. Cook
Very little is known about this member. His caricature was drawn in 1917 and suggests that he was interested in racing and had served in the ranks during the First World War.
H. Desborough
H. Desborough
Harry Desborough was a company manager who was instrumental in identifying what had previously been the anonymous caricatures on the walls of the Club. Desborough joined the Club on 10 September 1915.
Dr W. Kington Fyffe
Dr W. Kington Fyffe
Dr Fyffe was a Club committee member in 1903, and from 1905 to 1914. During his First World War service he rose to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel in the Medical Corps. He was elected to the Club committee again in 1918.
A.L. Garbett
A.L. Garbett
A.L. (Peter) Garbett served on many Fire Boards and insurance industry committees and was president of the Insurance Council in 1952 and 1953. Peter Garbett joined the Club on 22 April 1938.
E.O. Hales
E.O. Hales
Everett Olive (not Oliver) Hales was a Wellington representative at cricket and rugby, and served a term as Chairman of the Wellington Rugby Union. He joined the Club on 12 May 1916.
Captain M.T. Holm
Captain M.T. Holm
Never was a man more appropriately named than Mariner Tucker Holm because he was a master mariner who served in sail and steam in peace and war. Captain Holm joined the Club on 9 OCtober 1942.
R.W. McVilly
R.W. McVilly
Richard William McVilly was president of the NZAAA, the Wellington Boxing Association, and chairman of the New Zealand Rowing. He joined the Club on 14 November 1919 and became a popular Club man.
Dr. P.F. McEvedy
Dr. P.F. McEvedy
Dr Patrick Francis McEvedy was one of Wellington’s best known and most respected doctors, an English and Irish rugby trialist, and Barbarians player in 1906, 1907 and 1908. Dr McEvedy joined the Club on 13 January 1911.
W.J. Blundell
W.J. Blundell
Walter John Blundell was a member of the family that founded the Evening Post. He became a director in 1917, and was made managing director in 1925. He joined the Wellesley Club in 1901.
A.H. Hollis
A.H. Hollis
Arthur Hollis was a partner in Bethune and Company, a keen racing man and a keen golfer. He joined the Club on 12 June 1914 and served on the committee from 1926 until 1937.
C. W. Tringham
C. W. Tringham
Charles Tringham joined the Wellesley Club on 11 August 1905, and was a vice president and a trustee at the time of the laying of the foundation stone of the Maginnity Street premises on 31 October 1925.
Group Captain T. M. Wilkes, MC, CBE
Group Captain T. M. Wilkes, MC, CBE
Tom Wilkes joined the Club on 12 January 1923. He was the first secretary to the newly formed Air Board in 1920 and Director of Air Services in the early 1930s
Dr H.A.H. Gilmer
Dr H.A.H. Gilmer
Dr Gilmer was responsible for the Club being granted the privilege of using the Duke of Wellington’s crest. He served on the committee from 1910 to 1927, and became a vice president in 1928.
Viscount Bledisloe of Lydney
Viscount Bledisloe of Lydney
Lord Bledisloe P.C., G.C.M.G., K.B.E was an immensely popular Governor-General of New Zealand. His most important gift to New Zealand was the Waitangi estate which he presented to the nation as a national monument.
D.R. Richmond
D.R. Richmond
Denis Rochfort Richmond was a lawyer, son of Mr Justice Richmond, and father of lawyer Robert Richmond. Both were presidents of the Wellington District Law Society; Denis in 1937 and Robert in 1974. He became a life member in 1968.
Colonel A.H. Hume
Colonel A.H. Hume
Arthur Hume served in India with the 79th Highlanders. In 1880, he was appointed Inspector of Prisons in New Zealand, and in 1890 became Commissioner of Police. Colonel Hume was made a life member in 1917.
Captain P. H. Hall Thompson, RN
Captain P. H. Hall Thompson, RN
Percival Henry Hall Thompson was indeed a captain, but he ended his outstanding 45 year career with the Royal Navy as an Admiral. He was ADC to the King in 1922 and was made a CB in 1924.
Col. G.T. Hall, C.M.G., C.B.E., J.P
Col. G.T. Hall, C.M.G., C.B.E., J.P
George Thompson Hall served in the 1st NZEF and was promoted to Camp Commandant in Egypt with the rank of Lieutenant Colonel, and 1916 became Assistant Quartermaster General.
S. Dix
S. Dix
Sidney (Dixie) Dix was the owner of Office Appliance Company in Brandon Street, which he ran as a one-man concern. He joined the Club on 14 October 1921.
Captain F. E. Tether
Captain F. E. Tether
Captain Tether was a ‘geordie' with an accent that was an unmistakable guide to his origins. He served as Marine Superintendent for the New Zealand Shipping Company. He joined the Club on 10 June 1938.
G.D. Lidgett
G.D. Lidgett
George Lidgett was an ex-Navy engineer who became Lloyds’ surveyor in Wellington, and was known as ‘the Commander’. He joined the Club on 8 October 1937 and remained a member of the Club for 20 years.
E.F. Hadfield
E.F. Hadfield
Ernest Frederick Hadfield was president of the Wellington District Law Society in 1907, and Chancellor of the Diocese of Wellington for many years. He joined the Club in 1899.
C.W. Chilman
C.W. Chilman
Charles William Chilman, better known as ‘Chilly’, was a banker. He was a foundation member of the Club, and was one of its directors from 1891 to 1893. He was made a life member in 1925.
Dr Stowe
Dr Stowe
Dr Stowe is known to have been a tall, thin, distinguished looking man who was one of the Club’s very early members. No other information about him can be discovered.
L. Goldfinch
L. Goldfinch
Leslie (Goldy) Goldfinch was a manager of Levin & Company. He joined the Club on 13 June 1924, serving on the committee from 1941 to 1948 when he retired to Tauranga and became a country member.
E.L. Riddiford
E.L. Riddiford
Eric Riddiford was a member of one of the most famous farming families in New Zealand, and was well known as a racing owner and administrator. He joined the Wellesley Club on 12 June 1908.
 
Pause